The Children's Toy & Doll Museum is proud to be housed in an historic century home. When purchased in 1996, the home was in need of extensive repairs. A number of individuals, families, and organizations undertook the restoration. Each room was adopted and generously restored.
Built in the Eastlake/Queen Anne style, our home has a rich history. It was built in 1889 by George Strecker, a local boiler maker. Mr. Strecker's shop was located at 709 Fort Street, just around the corner from his new home. The shop manufactured oil stills, tanks and smoke stacks. The home has known many families and at one time was even converted into two apartments.
Queen Anne architecture was a Victorian revival of 16th century styles popular during the reign of Britain's Queen Anne. Specifically, the Eastlake style emphasized precision geometric shapes made possible by new technology of the era.